Grants & Awards

AFBEA is pleased to have the ability to offer our members scholarships and grants to attend conferences and support educational programs. 


Ken Fovargue Grant

The Ken Fovargue Grant was established by AFBEA to assist smaller departments with the purchase and implementation of fire and life safety programs or materials.  This is a one time, annual grant for $500, available to departments of under 100 members who may be fighting for education dollars.

Hugh Anderson Grant

The Hugh Anderson Grant allows an AFBEA member the opportunity to attend a seminar or conference which they might not otherwise be able to afford.  The recipient of this grant is required to act as AFBEA’s representative and must give a detailed report of the content and operations of the conference to the membership at the next quarterly meeting.


Mark A. Sanchez Memorial Award

Mark A. Sanchez was a professional firefighter with the city of Flagstaff, Arizona.  Mark participated in many programs whose goal was to reduce childhood injury.  He was also known as “Father Fire”, his educational character.  Mark was taken from us September 11, 1993, in a tragic fatal highway crash.

In memory of Mark and his dedication to the children and his community, a “Mark A. Sanchez Memorial Award” was established.  This award is given to an individual who has displayed a real dedication to promoting fire and life safety in their community or state through characterization.

Educator of the Year Award

Each year the Arizona Fire and Burn Educators Association selects a Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year. Each individual awarded this honor has made significant contributions to Fire and Life Safety Education, demonstrated outstanding work as an educator, has been successful in increasing public awareness about safety issues, serves as a positive role model in their community and exhibits a commitment to excellence in their educational efforts.